Coach of The Year

Coach of The Year 2020

Voting consists of 1/3 Fan Vote (21000 votes this season), 1/3 Panel Vote, and 1/3 NwGaFootball Vote.

5th Place: Biff Parson (Rockmart)

Credit: Fox5Atlanta

The Yellow Jackets won their 4th consecutive Region Title, 3 in 7AA and this season in 6AAA. Coach Parson has been with Rockmart for 5 seasons with a record of 52-10 and the Jackets have been ranked in the AJC Top 10 36 of the last 39 weeks dating back to 2018.

4th Place: Jay Poag (Christian Heritage)


Coach Poag led the Lions to their 1st Region Title in the 9 year history of the program. They finished the regular season 8-1, their 3rd consecutive winning season under Poag, and were ranked as high as #6 by AJC in 2020.

3rd Place: Jamie Abrams (Cedartown)

In his 1st year as Head Coach of the Bulldogs, Coach Abrams led Cedartown to their 1st Region Title in 19 years and an appearance in the State quarterfinals for the 1st time since 2002.

2nd Place: Josh Groce (Gordon Lee)


In just his 2nd year with the Trojans, Coach Groce led Gordon Lee to a 10-2 record, their 2nd 10 win season since 1966 and 1st since 2002. He led one of the highest scoring offenses in NWGA putting up almost 39 points a game.

2020 Coach Of The Year:

Chad Cheatham (Fannin Co)

Winner on all 3 ballots (Fan,Panel, NwGaFootball). The Rebels started the season unranked and predicted to finish 2nd in Region 7AA. In his 3rd season with Fannin County, Coach Cheatham led the Rebels to an 8-0 regular season winning the Region 7AA Title, their 1st Title since 2007. The Rebels made it to the State quarterfinals for the 1st time since 1995 and were ranked in the AJC Top 10 for the 1st time in 13 years.